Review Nepal News

Assam cash-for-job scam : Dibrugarh police prepare few more list to arrest dozens of government officials

  Kathmandu, Nepal      September 13 2018

Guwahati, Sep 13 : Assam police is all set to arrest few more government officials in connection with the cash-for-job scam of Assam Public Service Commission (APSC).

A top source of Assam police said that, on the basis of forensic reports, the investigating team of Dibrugarh police has prepared a list of 22 officers of Assam Civil Service (ACS), Assam Police Service (APS) and other allied services to interrogate them.

“After receiving the recent forensic reports, the investigating team has prepared another list to quiz few more government officials in connection with the cash-for-job scam. The team will summon the officials soon,” the top police source said.

The source further said that, including the accused government officers, several have moved to the court for interim bail.

Assam police have so far arrested 56 government officers including Pallavi Sharma, daughter of BJP MP RP Sharma, Rajarshi Sen Deka, son of former Assam minister Nilamoni Sen Deka.

On July 23, the Dibrugarh police had arrested an officer of Assam Police Service (APS) identified as Kavita Das, who is presently served as a Deputy Superintendent of Police (SP) in 19th IRBn in connection with the infamous scam.

On July 18, the Dibrugarh police had arrested 13 ACS officer, 3 APS officers and one District Transport Officer (DTO), one Tax Superintendent and one Tax Inspector in connection with the scam.

The arrested officers are, Suranjita Hazarika (DTO), Utpal Bhuyan (ACS), Barnali Das (ACS), Susovan Das (ACS), Dhruvojyoti Chakraborty (ACS), Manzoor Ilahi Laskar (ACS), Moon Mazoomdar (ACS), Mustafa Ahmed Borbhuyan (ACS), Saibur Rahman Borbhuyan (ACS), Monika Teronpi (ACS), Ganesh Chandra Das (ACS), Srabanti Sen Gupta (ACS), Deepsikha Phukan (ACS), Leena Krishna Kakati (ACS), Gulshan Daolagpu (APS), Pallavi Sharma (APS), Bhargav Phukan (APS), Rituraj Neog (Tax Superintendent ) and Nipon Kumar Pathak (Tax Inspector).

On the other hand, the Dibrugarh police have prepared another list of 27 officers of agriculture department, who have been accused of obtaining the job under APSC through unfair means.

(By Hemanta Kumar Nath, Guwahati)