Review Nepal News

Government head NCP and main opposition Nepali Congress share position for the TRC and CIEDP
  Kathmandu, Nepal      January 18 2020


Kathmandu, Nepal, January 18, 2019: The political parties, particularly the government head Nepal Communist Party (NCP) and the main opposition party Nepali Congress (NC) have agreed to share the position of office bearers  of the two transitional justice mechanism of the country-   Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) and the Commission of Investigation on Enforced Disappeared Persons (CIEDP).

A meeting held between the leaders of the two parties on Saturday agreed to recommend Ganesh Dutta Bhatta for the Chairman of the TRC. Bhatta and another member Prachandaman Shrestha was recommended from the Nepali Congress’ quota. Likewise, Govinda Gautam, Man Dahal and Bishnu Pokharel have been recommended as members for the TRC from the NCP’s quota.

Similarly Yuvaraj Subedi has been recommended as Chairman of CIEDP and Bisnhu Bhandari as its member from the NCP’s quota. Sunil Ranjan Singh, Dr. Gangadhar Adhikari and Sarita Thapa have been recommended as members for the commission from NC.