Review Nepal News

Upper House Elections: Ruling Head NCP and RJPN Win 16 and 2 Seats Respectively Out Of 18 Seats
  Kathmandu, Nepal      January 23 2020


Kathmandu, Nepal, January 24, 2020: The ruling head Nepal Communist Party won the elections of 16 seats out of 18-member upper house elections held on Thursday. Rastriya Janata Party Nepal (RJPN), Madhes based party, won remaining two seats in the support of the NCP.  

As the election for the 18 member upper house was held on the basis of single transferable voting system, the main opposition Nepali Congress (NC) couldn’t secure even a single seat. The RJPN had forged electoral alliance with the NCP.   

According to the election Commission (EC) Gopi Achhami, Indira Gautam and Devendra Dahal of NCP emerged victorious from province 1. 

NCP Mirgendra Yadav of RJPN has been elected under ‘other’ category while Radheshyam Paswan and Tulasa Dahal of NCP have been elected under Dalit quota from province 2. 

Ganga Belbase and Beduram Bhusal of NCP have been elected from Province 3 while Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Bhagwati Neupane have been elected members of upper house from Gandaki Province. 

Likewise in Province 5, all three NCP candidates namely Gopal Bhattarai, Jag Prasad Sharma and Bimala Grimire have been elected under disable and women quota respectively.

Maya Prasad Sharma and Sumitra BC of NCP have been elected from Karnali Province while Taraman Swar and Sharada Bhatta of NCP have been elected from Sudur Paschim Province.